Photography Winners Announced

February 04, 2019

Photography Winners Announced

CONTACT: Jennifer Barbour, 618-357-8898

2/4/2019 - PINCKNEYVILLE, IL - Pinckneyville Community Hospital congratulates the winners of our first-ever community photo contest.

Winners of each category are: Daniel Herbst (Architecture); Devin Fisher (People); Laura Ryterski (Southern Illinois Experience); Daniel Herbst (Natural World); Allison Szostak (Natural World - Youth); and Allison Szostak (People - Youth). Ryterski was also chosen as the Overall Winner.

"I couldn't be more impressed with the quality of our nearly 90 submissions," said Randall W. Dauby, Pinckneyville Community Hospital CEO. "We have some truly talented individuals in our community. So much, in fact, we plan on doing it again very soon."

"When we first moved into our new facility, artwork was not something that was budgeted for. Each year, we have tried to determine how we were going to fill some of the blank spaces," explains Dauby. "What better way to decorate the walls of our community hospital, than through photos of our community, by members of our community?"

Members of the Patient and Family Advisory Council reviewed the photos and selected the top photos of each category, and photographers were notified last week.

Each winner will receive a gift card, and their photo will be displayed around the hospital. In addition to the category winners, 17 photos were selected to hang in patient rooms. Selected photos were submitted by: Miranda Bender, Vanessa Campbell, Stephanie Compton, Destiny Fisher, Devin Fisher, Daniel Herbst, Devin Leggans, Sherrie Morse, Blake Thornton, and Levi Vuichard.


The community is invited to view all 23 of the selected photographs at a reception on Tuesday, March 12, from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. A presentation recognizing the winners will take place at 7:00 p.m.